Log in
Forgot password ?
Become a member for free
Sign up
Sign up
Dynamic quotes 

4-Traders Homepage  >  News  >  Economy & Forex  >  All News

News : Economy & Forex

Latest NewsCompaniesMarketsEconomy & ForexCommoditiesInterest RatesBusiness LeadersFinance ProfessionalsCalendarSectors 
All NewsEconomyCurrencies / ForexCryptocurrenciesEconomic EventsPress releases

Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board : WCGA Announces Winners of 2017 Wisconsin Corn Yield Contest

share with twitter share with LinkedIn share with facebook
share via e-mail
01/03/2018 | 07:35pm CEST

• WCGA recognizes top-yielding corn production in six districts throughout Wisconsin.
• Cash prizes were awarded to the first ($500), second ($250) and third ($100) place winners in each geographic division.
• The contest highlights the use of sound agricultural practices in Wisconsin corn production systems.

LISBON, Wis. - The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA), a grassroots organization committed to increasing the profitability of corn production throughout Wisconsin, is excited to announce the winners of the 2017 WCGA Corn Yield Contest.

Organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices and the importance of using sound agricultural practices in Wisconsin corn production systems, the 2017 contest reflects a record-breaking growing season.

The WCGA Corn Yield Contest provides cash prizes to growers of the first, second and third highest reported yields in two main geographical divisions - the Northern and Southern divisions - which are based on active county corn grower associations throughout Wisconsin. The Southern division, given the number of active growers, is sub-divided into four additional divisions. In total, contests were held for growers in Columbia County, Dodge/Fond du Lac Counties, Juneau/Adams/Marquette Counties, Rock County, and statewide. First place winners received $500, second place $250, and third place $100.

Mark Schroeder, DeForest, was the Columbia County winner with 280.183 bushels per acre. Brett King, Brownsville, was the Dodge/Fond du Lac Counties winner with 294.4694 bushels per acre. Richard Lucas, Hancock, was the Juneau/Adams/Marquette Counties winner with 233.5626 bushels per acre. Nick Venable, Janesville, was the Rock County winner with 284.4022 bushels per acre. Mike Berget, Gratiot was the Southern Region winner with 314.2086 bushels per acre. Jeff Laskowski, Plover, was the Northern Region winner with 317.6421 bushels per acre.

Columbia County Corn Yield Contest Results
1. Mark Schroeder, DeForest, DuPont Pioneer, 280.183 bu/acre
2. Joe Berger, Cambria, Jung Seeds, 279.671 bu/acre
3. Nate Braaksma, Cambria, Jung Seeds, 274.4857 bu/acre

Dodge/Fond du Lac Counties Corn Yield Contest Results
1. Brett King, Brownsville, Dekalb, 294.4694 bu/acre
2. Rob King, Brownsville, Dekalb, 289.2769 bu/acre
3. Jerry Kreuziger, Juneau, Dekalb, 283.2426 bu/acre

Juneau/Adams/Marquette Counties Corn Yield Contest Results
1. Richard Lucas, Hancock, 233.5626 bu/acre

Rock County Corn Yield Contest Results
1. Nick Venable, Janesville, Jung Seeds, 284.4022 bu/acre

Southern Wisconsin Corn Yield Contest Results
1. Mike Berget, Graitot, Dekalb, 314.2086 bu/acre
2. Meghan Saunders, Graitot, Dekalb, 298.5043 bu/acre
3. Schram Farms, Berlin, Dekalb, 257.6874 bu/acre

Northern Wisconsin Corn Yield Contest Results
1. Jeff Laskowski, Plover, Dekalb, 317.6421 bu/acre
2. Barb Laskowski, Plover, Dekalb, 312.0567 bu/acre
3. Cletus Kurowski, Shawano, Legacy Seeds, 225.4259 bu/acre

Entry in the state corn yield contest was free for all current WCGA members. Yields were verified at harvest by either a county agent or a professional agricultural consultant, and confirmed by using either a weigh wagon or truck scale. Contest entries were required to be from a field of corn 10 or more acres in size of one variety and from an area of any shape, but the contest plot had to be from a total of 1.25 or more harvested acres.

About Wisconsin Corn
The Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board is comprised of nine corn grower directors elected from across the state. This volunteer board was formed in 1983 with the passage of a corn checkoff and is dedicated to market development, research and education. The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association is a grassroots organization committed to increasing the profitability of corn growers through sound policies, continued market development and strong involvement in the political process. To learn more, visit www.wicorn.org.

Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board Inc. published this content on 03 January 2018 and is solely responsible for the information contained herein.
Distributed by Public, unedited and unaltered, on 03 January 2018 18:34:10 UTC.

share with twitter share with LinkedIn share with facebook
share via e-mail
Latest news "Economy & Forex"
12:33pCOAL AUTHORITY : Dawdon mine water treatment scheme
12:28pZF FRIEDRICHSHAFEN : Electric Drive Solutions Simplify Transition to E-Mobility for Truck and Bus Manufacturers
12:28pJ MURPHY & SONS : Murphy first UK construction company to use cleaner fuel
12:23pKONKURRENCE : Kommissionen indleder undersøgelse af begrænsninger af den frie strøm af gas, der sælges af Qatar Petroleum i Europa
12:13pFUEST : Using Tax Policy to strengthen Germany as a business location and Curb Profit Shifting
12:13pESCAP ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COMMISSION FOR ASIA AN : Regional Consultation on South-South Cooperation in Asia and the Pacific
12:09pFINTECH SELECT : Signs an Agreement to deploy Its POS Cryptocurrency solution across 300+ locations
12:05pMARK MILLER : here is why
12:05pParagon Insurance Holdings LLC Adds Tonya Fuller and Ashley Forslund to Winery and Brewery Team
12:04pEU opens investigation into Qatar's long-term LNG contracts
Latest news "Economy & Forex"